Marrying a Turkish man

Discussion in 'Talk about Turkey' started by butterfly 67, Jan 16, 2011.

1. butterfly 67 Kusadasi Explorer

Hello, im very new to this, but need some help.. I have just arrived back from Antalya for the 4th time. I live in the U.K and i am with a turkish man, we want to get married, i want him to live in England as i cant move to Turkey because of family commitments.. Having read some information, i am totally confused with it all. Is it easier/better to get married in Turkey or The U.K. Can anyone give me any tips or help on the whole subject please :)
  2. DeluxeFX
  3. Kusadasi4121 Kusadasi Explorer

I Know a lot of couples tend to have a wedding in both countries!
  4. Lez Zetli Kusadasi Expert

If you are going to live in England I can't think of any practical advantage of getting married in Turkey. If you marry in England you will have an English marriage certificate which you may need to show from time to time in the future in England so it will be easier for you. If you have a Turkish marriage certificate you will probably be required to have it officially translated every time you need to use it.

If you want to invite wedding guests consider the difficulties and expense they will have if you want them to go to a different country. To avoid this couples often get married in one country and then have a ceremony (not a wedding - you can't marry twice) in the other.

P.S You're probably not thinking about divorce at the moment :D but in the UK and in Turkey the divorce rate gives you a 50-50 chance of having one :(
    In this case you would find it a whole lot easier having an English marriage certificate as you would be going through the English legal system.

I make no claim to be an expert in these matters so please get lots of other opinions :)
  5. Mavi Glaswegian Güzeli